Declaration of Independence
By Joseph

Who-The declaration was signed by John Hancock, John Adams, Samuel Adams, Robert Treat Paine, Elbridge Gerry, Josiah Bartlett, William Whipple, Matthew Thornton, Stephen Hopkins, William Ellery, Roger Sherman, Samuel Huntington, William Williams, Oliver Wolcott, William Floyd, Philip Livingston, Francis Lewis, Lewis Morris, Richard Stockton, John Witherspoon, Francis Hopkinson, John Hart, Abraham Clark, Robert Morris, Benjamin Rush, Benjamin Franklin, John Morton, George Clymer, James Smith, George Taylor, James Wilson, George Ross, Caesar Rodney, George Read, Thomas McKean, Samuel Chase, William Paca, Thomas Stone, Charles Carroll of Carrollton, George Wythe, Richard Henry Lee, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Harrison, Thomas Nelson Jr., Francis Lightfoot Lee, Carter Braxton, William Hooper, Joseph Hewes, John Penn, Edward Rutledge, Thomas Heyward Jr., Thomas Lynch Jr., Arthur Middleton, Button Gwinnett, Lyman Hall, and George Walton.

Thomas Jefferson was the main writer of the declaration, along with Benjamin Franklin and John Adams.
What-The Declaration of Independence stated that the colonies were free from Britain. It was passed by the Second Continental Congress on July 4, 1776. The Declaration said the reasons that the colonies had for resisting Britain. Three of the main things leading up to the making of the Declaration were the Stamp Act, the Townshend Acts, and the Tea Act. In 1774 the First Continental Congress met to discuss resistance against Britain. They decided that the Parliament could not tax them because the colonists were not represented in Parliament. The colonists also didn’t want to completely cut their link with Britain. During the Revolutionary War, on June 7, 1776, Richard Henry Lee wrote a resolution and presented it to the Second Continental Congress. They decided to appoint someone to draft a declaration of independence and Thomas Jefferson got the job. The congress approved of the resolution and soon John Hancock and the Congress’ secretary, Charles Thomson, signed it.
When-On Sept. 5, 1774, the First Continental Congress met and on May 10, 1775, the Second Continental Congress came together. The final draft of the declaration was accepted on July 4, 1776.
Where-The first and second Continental Congress’ both met in Philadelphia and the declaration was passed at the Second Continental Congess.
How-The declaration was started by Richard Henry Lee reading his resolution to the Second Continental Congress. They then had Thomas Jefferson make the declaration of independence, along with Benjamin Franklin and John Adams. After it was read to people in the State House yard they decided to put it on parchment and had everyone sign it, which included 56 people.
Why-The declaration was the colonists way of declaring their freedom from British rule. The colonists were angry with the way the British thought they could tax them with the Stamp Act, the Townshend Acts, and the Tea Act.  The colonists were fed up with the taxation without representation and all the other things Britain had done to them so the declaration was the final thing that separated them from Britain.

Rakove, Jack N. "Declaration of Independence." World Book Student. World Book, 2011. Web. 3 Feb. 2011.
"The Declaration of Indenpendence." Indenpendence Hall Association, n.d. Web. 9 Feb 2011. <>.

"The Declaration of Independence of the Thirteen Colonies." N.p., 27 Feb 2008. Web. 10 Feb 2011. <>.

Back to Home